Username   Password   
Forgot  |  Register | FAQ
Columbia University Men Team News
Winston Lin Named Ivy League Rookie of the Year
Thursday, 05/03/2012

NEW YORK - Columbia's Winston Lin was named the Ivy League Rookie of the Year and four Lions gained first team All-Ivy League honors, the league office announced today after a vote by the league's eight head coaches.

Lin is the third Columbia player to be named Ivy League Rookie of the Year in the last six seasons, following Jonathan Wong (2007) and teammate Haig Schneiderman (2009).

Lin and Schneiderman gained first team All-Ivy League honors in singles and Columbia teammates Ashok Narayana and Max Schnur were unanimously voted first team All-Ivy League in doubles.

Lin was a unanimous selection in singles after posting a 21-1 singles record playing at Nos. 1 and 2 singles, including a perfect 7-0 record in the Ivy League. Lin also notched a 10-3 doubles record with partner Haig Schneiderman, including a 5-2 record in the league at No. 2 doubles.

Scheniderman caps his stellar career with his fourth All-Ivy League honor and his first selection to the All-Ivy League first team. Playing at either No. 1 or No. 2 singles, Schneiderman won three matches in the Ivy League and teamed with Lin to earn a 10-3 doubles record, including five wins in the Ivy League.

Narayana and Schnur were terrific in their first collegiate seasons. The rookie duo combined for a 15-7 doubles record and a 5-2 mark in Ivy League play at the No. 1 doubles spot. Narayana and Schnur went 3-2 against nationally ranked teams, helping Columbia in its quest for the all-important doubles point.

These four All-Ivy honorees helped lead the team to a No. 42 national ranking, and the team's first at-large bid to the NCAA Tournament in 14 years. Columbia continues its season against 31st-ranked VCU in the first round of the NCAA Tournament on Saturday, May 12 at 9 a.m. in Charlottesville, Va.

Player of the Year
Matija Pecotic, Princeton (Jr., Sliema, Malta)

Rookie of the Year
*Winston Lin, Columbia (Fr., Williamsville, N.Y.)

First Team All-Ivy
*Winston Lin, Columbia (Fr., Williamsville, N.Y.)
Haig Schneiderman, Columbia (Sr., New York)
*Jonathan Pearlman, Harvard (Sr., Palm Beach, Fla.)
*Matija Pecotic, Princeton (Jr., Sliema, Malta)
Daniel Hoffman, Yale (Jr., Atherton, Calif.)
*John Huang, Yale (Jr., Irvine, Calif.)

*Ashok Narayana, Columbia (Fr., Houston, Texas)
*Max Schnur, Columbia (Fr., Richmond, Va.)
Alistar Felton, Harvard (Sr., Somerset, England)
Casey MacMaster, Harvard (So., Fort Collins, Colo.)
*Daniel Hoffman, Yale (Jr., Atherton, Calif.)
*Marc Powers, Yale (Jr., Stamford, Conn.)

Second Team All-Ivy
Soufiane Azargui, Brown (So., Burlington, Ontario, Canada)
William Spector, Brown (Fr., Weston, Mass.)
Venkat Iyer, Cornell (So., Bethesda, Md.)
Sam Fleck, Cornell (Fr., Cambridge, United Kingdom)
Denis Nguyen, Harvard (Fr., Anaheim, Calif.)
Jeremy Court, Penn (Fr., New Rochelle, N.Y.)

Soufiane Azargui, Brown (So., Burlington, Ontario, Canada)
Brandon Burke, Brown (So., Kingston, Jamaica)
Michel Laser, Dartmouth (Sr., Glencoe, Ill.)
Alex de Chatellus, Dartmouth (Jr., Tiburon, Calif.)
Matt Siow, Princeton (Jr., Irvine, Calif.)
Matt Spindler, Princeton (Jr., Sacramento, Calif.)

* - Unanimous Selection