Username Or Email   Password   
Forgot  |  Register | FAQ
Home >   
Top-Ranked Cavaliers Face Host Washington in ITA Team Indoor Championships
Wednesday, 02/13/2013
( 0 ) ( 0 ) ( 0 )
huddle(1).jpg

University of Virginia Team Page

CHARLOTTESVILLE - The draw for the 2013 ITA Men's National Team Indoor Championship was announced Tuesday as 16 of the nation's top teams travel to Seattle to compete Feb. 15-18. The top-ranked Cavaliers will open the tournament against host Washington, the nation's No. 24 ranked squad, on Friday at 5:30 pm PT (8:30 pm ET) at the Nordstrom Tennis Center.
 
Virginia is looking for its fifth championship in the past six years, having won the title an unprecedented four straight years from 2008-11. Two of those championships, 2008 and 2011, were won in Seattle.
 
The Cavaliers (2-0) are led by three of the top seven players in the latest ITA singles rankings. Alex Domijan (Wesley Chapel, Fla.) moved up to No. 1 in the Feb. 12 individual rankings, becoming the fourth Virginia player to earn the top spot in the rankings (Somdev Devvarman - 2008, Sanam Singh - 2010, Mitchell Frank - 2012). First-year Mac Styslinger (Birmingham, Ala.) is up to No. 4 this week and senior Jarmere Jenkins (College Park, Ga.) is No. 7. Freshmen Ryan Shane (Falls Church, Va.) and Harrison Richmond (Pawleys Island, S.C.) are at No. 25 and No. 52 respectively. In doubles, the duo of Jenkins and Styslinger are No. 4 and Domijan and Richmond are No. 6. Justin Shane (Falls Church, Va.) and Julen Uriguen (Guatemala City, Guatemala) are at No. 15 in this week's rankings.
 
The Virginia-Washington winner will play either No. 8 Oklahoma or No. 9 Duke in the quarterfinals on Saturday. The tournament semifinals are slated for Sunday and the championship match is at noon PT (3 pm ET) on Monday. 


7/15/2014
6/30/2014
6/24/2014
6/24/2014
5/28/2014
5/20/2014
5/19/2014
5/18/2014
5/15/2014
5/13/2014
5/9/2014
5/7/2014
5/7/2014
5/4/2014
5/4/2014