Username Or Email   Password   
Forgot  |  Register | FAQ
Home >   
Florida Plays Cal in NCAA Quarterfinals on Sunday at 1 pm ET
Sunday, 05/19/2013
( 0 ) ( 0 ) ( 0 )
FloridaHuddle(7).jpg

University of Florida Team Page

Florida has posted a 4-0 sweep of its first three opponents in the NCAA Championships and the Gator’s quest to defend their national championship continues on Sunday when they play No. 8 California at the Khan Outdoor Tennis Complex at the Atkins Tennis Center, where first serve is scheduled for 1 p.m. ET/Noon CT.
 
The Gators (25-2) lead the all-time series against Cal, 5-0, with the last meeting between the two teams a 5-0 decision on May 13, 1995 in the quarterfinals of the 1995 NCAA Championships. That was the only postseason contest between Florida and California (19-5). Andy Brandi was the head coach of the Gators in that meeting and the current Gator seniors were four years old when that match was played.
 
“We had a chance to watch them in the round of 16 match and it looks like all of their players roll the ball and have a high ball tolerance which is kind of like our M.O.,” UF head coach Roland Thornqvist said. “From that, I would guess that our match on Sunday is going to be a long one.”
 
Florida defeated Marist, 4-0, and No. 23 Georgia Tech, 4-0, to advance to Champaign-Urbana, Ill., and then posted a 4-0 win against Duke in the round of 16. Cal’s path included 4-0 wins against Stony Brook and Auburn, before the 4-1 decision against No. 9 Alabama on Friday.
 
The Gators sport a 22-4 all-time record in the quarterfinals of the NCAA Championships. This is the fourth straight year and the eighth time in the last nine years Florida has reached at least this round of the event.
 
The winner of Sunday’s match advances to the NCAA Semifinals and will play the winner of match between No. 4 Georgia (24-3) and No. 12 Stanford (19-4) on Monday at 6 p.m. ET/5 p.m. CT.
 
NCAA Women’s Tennis Championships
Khan Outdoor Tennis Complex at the Atkins Tennis Center
Urbana, Ill.
 
Sunday, May 19, 2013
Schedule: Team Quarterfinals – LIVE SCORING AND VIDEO
1 pm ET/Noon CT: #1 Florida vs. #8 California
1 pm ET/Noon CT: #4 Georgia vs. #12 Stanford
5 pm ET/4 pm CT: #3 Texas A&M vs. #6 Miami
5 pm ET/4 pm CT: #2 North Carolina vs. #7 UCLA
 
Official NCAA Championships Website
For all of the latest information on Florida women’s tennis:
Official Website: http://www.gatorzone.com/tennis/women/
Twitter: @GatorZoneTennis  and  @GatorZoneNews
 
-##-
 


7/29/2014
7/15/2014
6/30/2014
6/24/2014
6/24/2014
5/28/2014
5/20/2014
5/19/2014
5/18/2014
5/15/2014
5/13/2014
5/9/2014
5/7/2014
5/7/2014
5/4/2014