Username   Password   
Forgot  |  Register | FAQ
Texas Tech University Men Team News
Wednesday, 05/11/2011

LUBBOCK, Texas – The 2011 All-Big 12 tennis teams were announced today by the conference office and Texas Tech had the same three men’s players garner honors for the second-consecutive year. Juniors Raony Carvalho and Gonzalo Escobar were named All-Big 12 singles, while Carvalho and Rafael Garcia were selected to the All-Big 12 doubles team.

The All-Big 12 tennis teams and postseason awards were voted on by the league’s head coaches.

“It is a well-deserved honor for these three guys,” said head coach Tim Siegel. “They have been the keys to our success the last few years. I’d also like to congratulate Todd Petty on being named the Women’s Coach of the Year. It is a great honor for him, his team and Texas Tech.”

For the third-straight year, Carvalho (Brazilia, Brazil) reaped both singles and doubles honors, while Escobar (Manta, Ecuador) and Garcia (Ribeirao Preto, Brazil) are second-time recipients of their respective awards. Garcia was an All-Big 12 singles selection in 2010 as well.

Carvalho was a unanimous All-Big 12 selection in singles as well as in doubles with Garcia.

Twenty-third-ranked Carvalho enters the NCAA Championships with a 21-1 record in duals, including a 5-1 record in Big 12 matches, while No. 26 Escobar stands at 14-10 overall and was 2-4 in the Big 12. The 20th-ranked tandem of Carvalho and Garcia post an 11-10 doubles mark and finished Big 12 play at 2-3.

No. 22 Texas Tech (16-9) opens the NCAA Championships on Fri., May 13, as it plays No. 43 Rice (17-9) at 10 a.m. at the Baylor Tennis Center in Waco, Texas. No. 5 Baylor and No. 70 Texas A&M-Corpus Christi clash at 1 p.m. The winners of the first round will play in the second round on Sat., May 14, at 3 p.m., with winner advancing to the Sweet 16 at the Taube Tennis Center in Stanford, Calif., May 19-24.

For a complete list of the Big 12 tennis teams and postseason awards, visit