Username   Password   
Forgot  |  Register | FAQ
UCLA Women Team News
Bruins Land Players on Team Indoor All-Tourney Team
Saturday, 02/16/2013

LOS ANGELES - The UCLA women's tennis team had one singles player and two doubles teams represented on the USTA/ITA National Team Indoor All-Tournament Team, the ITA announced on Friday.
After posting three wins at the tournament, Bruin freshman Kyle McPhillips earned all-tournament honors at No. 2 singles. McPhillips notched wins over No. 102 Courtney Colton of Vanderbilt, No. 57 Lina Lileikite of Miami and No. 28 Zoe De Bruycker of North Carolina. McPhillips, who is currently ranked No. 42 nationally in singles, was also leading 18th-ranked Maho Kowase of Georgia in the third set when that match was suspended after UCLA clinched the win.
McPhillips and partner Catherine Harrison were also named to the all-tournament team at No. 3 doubles, as the duo posted wins in the semifinals and final. Courtney Dolehide and Pamela Montez were named to the all-tournament team at No. 2 doubles. Dolehide and Montez also went 2-0 at the Indoors, downing 22nd-ranked Lilly Kimbell and Kowase of Georgia, 8-5 in the semifinals.
UCLA reached the Team Indoor final for the second year in a row, falling to North Carolina, 4-3 in the championship match.
2013 USTA/ITA National Team Indoors All-Tournament Team
No. 1 - Danielle Lao, USC
No. 2 - Kyle McPhillips, UCLA
No. 3 - Whitney Kay, North Carolina
No. 4 - Silvia Garcia, Georgia
No. 5 - Caroline Price, North Carolina
No. 6 - Clementina Riobueno, Miami (Fla.)
No. 1 - Kaitlyn Christian/Sabrina Santamaria, USC
No. 2 - Courtney Dolehide/Pamela Montez, UCLA
No. 3 - Catherine Harrison/Kyle McPhillips, UCLA
Voters included the head coaches from the 16 participating teams. Georgia Tech's Kirsten Flower was named the first ever Most Outstanding Player of the event in 2008. Georgia's Chelsey Gullickson earned the award in 2009, with Northwestern's Maria Mosolova receiving the honor in 2010. Stanford senior Hilary Barte was chosen as the Most Outstanding player in 2011, while UCLA's Robin Anderson was last year's selection. North Carolina's Whitney Kay was the 2013 recipient.