Username   Password   
Forgot  |  Register | FAQ
Ole Miss Women Team News
Ole Miss Women's Tennis Picked To Win SEC West
Friday, 01/22/2010

OXFORD, Miss. – The Ole Miss women’s tennis team was picked to capture the SEC Western Division as announced Friday in the SEC Women’s Tennis Preseason Coaches Poll.

The Rebels, ranked No. 21 in the preseason ITA National Rankings, finished second last year in the West with five top 25 wins in conference play.  In addition, they reached the semifinals of the SEC Tournament, advanced to the second round of the NCAA Championships.

Six of the top seven return from last year’s lineup along with transfers Connor Vogel and Pippa Reakes, who are expected to make a major contribution.  Leading the Rebels this year will be the nation’s No. 7 doubles tandem of sophomore Kristi Boxx and junior Karen Nijssen.  Also back is junior Laura van de Stroet, sophomores Abigail Guthrie and Gabriela Rangel and senior Soledad Podlipnik

“We are really excited for the girls,” head coach Mark Beyers said.  “They’ve worked hard to get here.  This is a result of the success that we had last year and the great results that they produced in the fall.”

Behind the Rebels in the West, Alabama was voted second, followed by Arkansas, Auburn, LSU and Mississippi State.  Florida was picked to win the Eastern Division, followed by Georgia, Tennessee, Vanderbilt, Kentucky and South Carolina.  The Gators were also voted to win the overall championship.

The preseason poll is voted on by the SEC Women’s Tennis Coaches and is based on a 6-5-4-3-2-1 count. The complete tally for the poll is below.

The Rebels open the season Tuesday, Jan. 26 at home against Southern Mississippi.  The match begins at 2 p.m. at the Gillom Sports Center.  Admission is free.

2010 Women’s Tennis Coaches Preseason Poll
Eastern Division
1. Florida 71
2. Georgia 57
3. Tennessee 31
4. Vanderbilt 31
5. South Carolina 29
6. Kentucky 12
Western Division
1. Ole Miss 66
2. Alabama 62
3. Arkansas 50
4. Auburn 32
5. LSU 29
6. Mississippi State 12
Overall Regular Season Champion:  Florida (11 votes); Tennessee (1).