Username   Password   
Forgot  |  Register | FAQ
Univ. of Oklahoma Men Team News
Sooners Advance to Finals
Monday, 10/22/2012

NORMAN, Okla. -- One University of Oklahoma men's tennis player and a Sooner tandem advanced to the finals of the Intercollegiate Tennis Association Central Region Championships in Minneapolis, Minn., Sunday, Oct. 21.

Redshirt junior Guillermo Alcorta defeated Drake's Alen Salibasic in the quarterfinals of the singles main draw 6-3, 6-2. He then beat Drake's Robin Goodman in the semifinals 6-3, 6-0.

The duo of Alcorta and freshman Axel Alvarez Llamas also advanced to the final round of play. In the quarterfinals, topped Minnesota's Rok Bonin and Leandro Toledo, 8-0. Alcorta and Alvarez Llamas defeated fellow Sooners Peerakit Siributwong and Leonard Stakhovsky in the semifinals, 8-3.

ITA preseason No. 28 Alcorta faces No. 50 Toledo in the final round Monday, Oct. 22 at 10 a.m. Toledo beat Drake's Anis Ghorbel 7-6 (5), 6-4 to advance to the finals.

The tandem of Alcorta and Alvarez Llamas face Drake's No. 59 Anis Ghorbel and James Mckie in the final round Monday at 12 p.m. Ghorbel and Mckie beat the No. 1 Sooner All-American duo of Costin Paval and Dane Webb 8-5 to advance to the finals.

Follow @OU_Tennis on Twitter and like "Oklahoma Men's Tennis" on Facebook for more information on the OU men's tennis program.

Singles - Quarterfinals
Anis Ghorbel (Drake) def. Costin Paval (OU), 6-3, 3-6, 6-2.
Leandro Toledo (Minnesota) def. Axel Alverez Llamas (OU), 6-4, 6-1, 6-4.
Guillermo Alcorta (OU) def. Alen Salibasic (Drake), 6-3, 6-2.

Singles - Semifinals
Guillermo Alcorta (2) (OU) def. Robin Goodman (Drake), 6-3, 6-0.

Doubles - Quarterfinals
Costin Paval/Dane Webb (OU) def. Lawrence Formentera/Harry Warden (OU), 8-3.
Peerakit Siributwong/Leonard Stakhovsky (OU) def. Abdul Alawadhi/Tomas Patino (UMKC), 8-1.
Guillermo Alcorta/Axel Alverez Llamas (OU) def. Rok Bonin/Leandro Toledo (Minnesota), 8-0.

Doubles - Semifinals
Anis Ghorbel/James Mckie (Drake) def. Costin Paval/Dane Webb (OU), 8-5.
Guillermo Alcorta/Axel Alverez (OU) def. Peerakit Siributwong/Leonard Stakhovsky (OU), 8-3.