Username   Password   
Forgot  |  Register | FAQ
Univ. of Oklahoma Men Team News
Oklahoma Tennis Tops Washington
Sunday, 02/17/2013

NORMAN, Okla. -- The No. 8 University of Oklahoma men's tennis team defeated host-team No. 24 Washington, 4-2, in the consolation bracket of the ITA National Team Indoor Championships in Seattle, Wash., Saturday, Feb. 16. 
The Sooners (6-2) won the first match of the night when Costin Paval and Dane Webb defeated Emmett Egger and Kyle McMorrow, 8-2. The Huskies' (6-4) Marton Bots and Max Manthou responded by beating Axel Alvarez Llamas and Guillermo Alcorta, 8-5. 
Peerakit Siributwong and Leonard Stakhovsky then battled for the doubles point, topping Viktor Farkas and Jeff Hawke, 8-5, and claiming the first team point for OU.
In singles, Washington tied the match after Alvarez Llamas retired in his match against Manthou when the Husky led 6-3, 3-0. 
Webb grabbed the next team point for the Sooners, beating Egger 6-4, 6-1. Washington tied things again when Farkas topped Stakhovsky 6-3, 6-4. 
ITA No. 68 Paval upset No. 18 Kyle McMorrow, defeating him 6-4, 6-4, to bring OU's lead to 3-2. 
Alcorta clinched the match for the Sooners, beating Bots 6-4, 6-4. 
OU faces No. 13 California (4-3) in the final consolation round of the National Team Indoor Championships at 7:30 p.m. CT Sunday, Feb. 17. 
Follow @OU_Tennis on Twitter and like Oklahoma Men's Tennis on Facebook for more information on the men's tennis program. 
No. 8 Oklahoma 4, No. 24 Washington 2
    1. Paval Webb (OU) def. Egger/McMorrow (Washington), 8-2
    2. Bots/Manthou (Washington) def. Alvarez Llamas/Alcorta (OU), 8-5
    3. Siributwong/Stakhovsky (OU) def. Farkas/Hawke (Washington), 8-5
        Order of finish: 1, 2, 3
    1. Costin Paval (OU) def. Kyle McMorrow (Washington), 6-4, 6-4
    2. Guillermo Alcorta (OU0 def. Marton Bots (Washington), 6-4, 6-4
    3. Dane Webb (OU) def. Emmett Egger (Washington), 6-4, 6-1
    4. Max Manthou (Washington) def. Axel Alvarez Llamas (OU), 6-3, 3-0 (ret.)
    5. Viktor Farkas (Washington) def. Leonard Stakhovsky (OU), 6-3, 6-4
    6. Peerakit Siributwong led Jeff Hawke, 6-3, 2-6, 2-1 (dnf)
        Order of finish: 4, 3, 5, 1, 2*