Username   Password   
Forgot  |  Register | FAQ
University of Alabama Women Team News
Alabama Well Represented in SEC Awards
Wednesday, 04/24/2013

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. - The women’s tennis team collected a host of Southeastern Conference awards as the league announced its annual list of honorees on Wednesday.
Antonia Foehse brought home Scholar-Athlete of the Year honors, marking the third consecutive season the award was earned by the Crimson Tide. In addition, Alexa Guarachi and Mary Anne Macfarlane were named to the All-SEC First Team, while Foehse was named to the Second Team and Natalia Maynetto to the All-Freshman Team.
Foehse has clinched a team-leading six matches this season and holds an overall record of 17-8 in singles and 16-5 in doubles. She went 12-1 in her first 13 matches of the season, with that one loss coming in three sets. Her biggest victory of the season was her three-set come-from-behind victory, 5-7, 7-6(5), 6-1, to clinch the Tide’s win against 14th-ranked Baylor at the ITA Indoor National Team Championship. Foehse holds a 3.975 GPA in psychology and is a two-time ITA Scholar-Athlete and was twice named to the SEC Academic Honor Roll. She has been a member of the Dean’s List in every semester and made the President’s List on three occasions.
“Toni has worked tirelessly in the classroom to set herself apart from the rest,” said Alabama head coach Jenny Mainz. “She’s incredibly driven to achieve greatness scholastically and will not settle for anything but her best. She’s sharp, articulate and very disciplined with her studies. This is a prestigious award as there are more than a few standout student-athletes in our conference.”
Guarachi is making her third straight appearance on the All-SEC First Team after earning Second Team honors as a freshman in 2010. She holds a 22-14 overall mark in singles and a 22-10 record in doubles and is ranked nationally in both categories. This season, Guarachi became Alabama’s winningest player in both singles and doubles and was recently named to the SEC All-Tournament Team.
Macfarlane, who anchors the Tide’s No. 1 position in singles and doubles, has 17 overall wins in singles, including eight against nationally-ranked opponents. She leads the team with 27 doubles victories as well, with 11 against teams ranked nationally. Macfarlane has been ranked as high as No. 2 in doubles and No. 10 in singles throughout the season and is only one win away from entering Alabama’s top 10 list for career singles victories.
“I’m proud of Alexa, Mary Anne and Toni for being named to the All-SEC Teams,” said Mainz. “These three players have done a commendable job of leading our team on and off the court. Their positive influence and guidance have proven to be key reasons for the success of this team. They’ve done an excellent job of infusing their work ethic, team spirit and positive attitudes on the younger players.”
Maynetto has been a force at the bottom of the lineup for the Tide, going undefeated in SEC singles play at 10-0. She holds an overall record of 28-8, including an 18-1 mark in dual match play. She clinched five of Alabama’s 19 wins, including three of its 4-3 victories, all of which came against top-20 teams. Maynetto, who ranked as high as No. 89 this season, enters NCAA Championship play on a 12-match winning streak in singles.
“Natalia is truly deserving of this distinction among the freshmen in the SEC,” added Mainz. “We had an impressive group of impactful freshmen in our league this year, and Natalia most definitely stands out as a forerunner. She has established a reputation as a relentless competitor with a fiery temperament.”
Coach of the Year: Roland Thornqvist, Florida
Player of the Year: Lauren Embree, Florida
Freshman of the Year: Pleun Burgmans Auburn
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Antonia Foehse, Alabama
All-SEC First Team
Alexa Guarachi, Alabama
Mary Anne Macfarlane, Alabama
Yang Pang, Arkansas
Pleun Burgmans, Auburn
Lauren Embree, Florida
Sofie Oyen, Florida
Lauren Herring, Georgia
Maho Kowase, Georgia
Kata Szekely, Tennessee
Brynn Boren, Tennessee
Cristina Sanchez-Quintanar, Texas A&M
Nazari Urbina, Texas A&M
All-SEC Second Team
Antonia Foehse, Alabama
Claudine Paulson, Arkansas
Nadia Ravita, Kentucky
Alexandra Cercone, Florida
Olivia Janowicz, Florida
Brianna Morgan, Florida
Kate Fuller, Georgia
Silvia Garcia, Georgia
Caroline Rohde-Moe, Mississippi
Georgiana Patrasc, Mississippi State
Jaklin Alawi, South Carolina
Katerina Popova, South Carolina
Cristina Stancu, Texas A&M
All-Freshman Team
Natalia Maynetto, Alabama
Yang Pang, Arkansas
Pleun Burgmans, Auburn
Brianna Morgan, Florida
Silvia Garcia, Georgia
Nadia Ravita, Kentucky