Username   Password   
Forgot  |  Register | FAQ
Tennis Staff
 Scott Wills

Scott Wills enters his fifth season as head coach of the Ohio Northern Women’s Tennis Program. Wills also serves as Director of The Northern Fund in The Office of Development and University Relations at Ohio Northern.

In his first seasons as coach, the Lady Bears posted a 83-17 record, which included winning the first Ohio Athletic Conference (OAC) tournament in school history in 2002.  In 2005, the Polar Bears claimed the OAC regular season and tournament titles.  Wills was named the 2005 and 2002 OAC coach of the year by his peers.

Coach Wills has an extensive tennis background. He is a member of the Intercollegiate Tennis Association and United States Tennis Association, and serves as Chair of the OAC Women's Tennis Committee.

While at ONU, Wills was a four-year letterman on the men’s tennis squad under legendary coach Mark Lenssen. He played #1 singles and #1 doubles all four years, was an All-Ohio Athletic Conference honoree in 1986 and 1987 and served as team captain as a senior. Wills posted a 21-13 singles record and was 22-11 in doubles play from 1985-87. He helped the Polar Bears amass a 34-10 record during his four seasons, including a 10-0 mark in 1987."I feel very fortunate to coach at my alma mater." Wills said. "I had a tremendous undergraduate experience at ONU under Coach Lenssen who stressed the importance of excelling in academics and athletics. I want to provide that kind of experience for our current and future student-athletes. We have a very solid athletics tradition at Ohio Northern and I'm confident that we'll continue to build upon that tradition."

After his graduation from ONU, Wills’ success on the court continued. He was the 1991 City of New Philadelphia singles champion and reached the finals of the Anderson Open in 1995 and the Gahanna Open in 2000.

Education: The Fort Wayne, Ind., native graduated from Ohio Northern in 1987 with a BSBA in business administration. He earned the MBA degree from Ashland University in 1991.