Username   Password   
Forgot  |  Register | FAQ
Univ. of Miami (Florida) Women Team News
Miami's Vallverdu leads ACC All-Academic Women's Tennis Team
Wednesday, 08/05/2009

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Miami junior Laura Vallverdu has been named the 2009 Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Tennis Scholar-Athlete of the Year and leads the ACC All-Academic Team, as announced today by Commissioner John D. Swofford.


Vallverdu, a junior from Valencia, Venuzuela, is a three-time member of the All-ACC Academic Women’s Tennis Team, a member of the President’s Honor Roll at Miami, a two-time member of the Provost’s Honor Roll and a three-time member of the Dean’s List. Vallverdu is also a five-time member of the Athletic Director’s Honor Roll and five-time University of Miami Book Buster.


On the court, Vallverdu is a three-time ITA All-American and a three-time All-ACC performer who posted a second-place finish in the 2009 NCAA Singles Championship. She ranks sixth on the school’s all-time win list with 96 and is the first player in Miami history to record 30 or more wins in each of her first three seasons.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards were established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the awards must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

Ten student-athletes named to the All-ACC Academic team were also voted All-ACC in April, and seven earned ITA All-America honors.


ACC Freshman of the Year Mallory Cecil of Duke – who won the NCAA singles title, captured the Honda Award for Women’s Tennis and the ITA National Player of the Year Award – led a group of ACC All-Americans also earning All-ACC Academic honors. Others included Clemson’s Ina Hadziselimovic, Duke’s Reka Zsilinszka, Miami’s Vallverdu, Julia Cohen and Bianca Eichkorn, and North Carolina’s Sophie Granbinski.


All-ACC honorees also named to the All-ACC Academic Team included Duke’s Cecil and Zsilinszka, Florida State’s Katie Rybakova and Noemie Scharle, Georgia Tech’s Amanda McDowell, Miami’s Vallverdu, Cohen, Eichkorn and Michaela Kissell, North Carolina’s Katrina Tsang, and Wake Forest’s Sasha Kulikova.


2009 All-ACC Women’s Tennis Academic Team


Name, School                                               Year       Major

**Estefania Balda , Clemson                       Sr.           Management

Ina Hadziselimovic, Clemson                      Jr.            Parks, Rec & Tourism Management

Mallory Cecil, Duke                                       Fr.           Undeclared

Amanda Granson, Duke                               Jr.            History

*Melissa Mang, Duke                                    Sr.           Psychology

Jessica Robinson, Duke                               Sr.           History

*Reka Zsilinszka, Duke                                So.          History

*Katie Rybakova, Florida State                   So.          English Education

*Ania Rynarzewska, Florida State              Sr.           Communications

Noemie Scharle, Florida State                    Fr.           Hospitality Management

**Amanda McDowell, Georgia Tech          Jr.            Economics and International Affairs

*Maggie MacKeever, Maryland                   Jr..           Kinesiology

Julia Cohen, Miami                                        So.          Undeclared

*Bianca Eichkorn, Miami                              Jr..           International Finance

Michaela Kissell, Miami                                Jr.            Sports Administration

#**Laura Vallverdu, Miami                           Jr.            Psychology

Sophie Grabinski, North Carolina              Sr.           Communication Studies

*Katrina Tsang, North Carolina                   Jr.            Political Science/Philosophy

*Neils Barringer, NC State                           Sr.           Mathematics Education

*Amanda Rales, Virginia                              Sr.           Foreign Affairs

Martha Blakely, Virginia Tech                     Fr.           Chemistry

***Inga Beermann, Virginia Tech               Sr.           Architecture

Sasha Kulikova, Wake Forest                     Jr.            Mathematical Economics

**Christian Tara, Wake Forest                    Sr.           Mathematics


#ACC Women’s Tennis Scholar-Athlete of the Year

*Repeat All-ACC Academic Team Selection

**Three-time All-ACC Academic Team Selection

***Four-time All-ACC Academic Team Selection