Username   Password   
Forgot  |  Register | FAQ
Ole Miss Men Team News
Chadwick Named SEC Coach Of The Year; Five Rebels All-SEC
Thursday, 04/30/2009

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- Ole Miss men’s tennis head coach Billy Chadwick was named the SEC Coach Of the Year, while a league-leading five Rebels earned All-SEC honors as the conference office announced the yearly awards Thursday. 

Seniors Jonas Berg and Bram ten Berge and junior Kalle Norberg were named to the All-SEC first team, while freshmen Devin Britton and Otto Sauer made the second team.   Britton was also one of six players named to the All-Freshman Team.

“These awards are well-deserved,” Chadwick said.  “To win the championship going undefeated in the strongest conference in the nation is an outstanding accomplishment.  Congratulations to each of these student-athletes.”

Berg earned All-SEC honors for the third time and made the first team for the second straight year.  He is currently ranked No. 1 in the nation in doubles and No. 16 in singles and has played No. 1 singles and doubles for the Rebels.

ten Berge, who picked up his second All-SEC honor, is ranked No.1 in the nation in doubles and was the 2009 Boyd McWhorter SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Britton, a two-time SEC Player of the Week this year, is ranked No. 30 in singles with a 12-4 record at No. 2.  He clinched the SEC Tournament Championship for the Rebels.

Sauer went 7-3 in the SEC and has clinched six of the Rebels’ wins this year, including the win over Florida in the tournament semifinals.

This marks the third time for Chadwick to be named coach of the year, also earning the honor in 1996 and 2004. 

Ole Miss, ranked No. 2 in the nation, won the SEC regular season going undefeated, repeated as tournament champions and won their eighth straight SEC West title in a league that featured three teams in the top five and six in the top 15.   The Rebels earned the No. 2 overall seed in the NCAA Championships and will face Alcorn State in the first round May 8 in Baton Rouge, La.

Coach of the Year: Billy Chadwick, Ole Miss
Player of the Year: Michael Venus, LSU
Freshman of the Year: Carlos Cueto, Florida
Scholar Athlete of the Year: Blake Strode, Arkansas

All-SEC First Team
Saketh Myneni, Alabama
Blake Strode, Arkansas
Carlos Cueto, Florida
Alex Lacroix, Florida
Jamie Hunt, Georgia
Nate Schnugg, Georgia
Bruno Agostinelli, Kentucky
Michael Venus, LSU
Jonas Berg, Ole Miss
Kalle Norberg, Ole Miss
Bram ten berge, Ole Miss

Matteo Fago, Tennessee
John-Patrick Smith, Tennessee

All-SEC Second Team
Mathieu Thibaudeau, Alabama
Alexey Tsyrenov, Auburn
Tim Puetz, Auburn
Antoine Benneteau, Florida
Javier Garrapiz, Georgia
Josh Varela, Georgia
Eric Quigley, Kentucky
Neal Skupski, LSU
Devin Britton, Ole Miss
Otto Sauer, Ole Miss
Ryan Farlow, Mississippi State
Diego Cubas, South Carolina
Boris Conkic, Tennessee
All-Freshman Team
Alex Stamchev, Auburn
Carlos Cueto, Florida
Eric Quigley, Kentucky
Neal Skupski, LSU
Devin Britton, Ole Miss

Artem Ilyushin, Mississippi State