Username   Password   
Forgot  |  Register | FAQ
TCU Women Team News
TCU Trio Honored With All-MWC Accolades
Thursday, 04/23/2009

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – Three TCU women’s tennis players garnered All-Mountain West Conference honors, the league announced at the annual awards banquet Wednesday evening.

Senior Macall Harkins, sophomore Katariina Tuohimaa and freshman Kayla Duncan earned all-conference singles honors, while Tuohimaa and Duncan were also tabbed for all-MWC doubles accolades.

Harkins, a senior from Palos Verdes, Calif., tallied a 10-10 record this spring and a 4-1 mark in MWC play in her final season to claim her second-straight All-MWC nod. Harkins led the Frogs from the top position since Feb. 26, enjoying an 8-5 record from the No. 1 slot.

Tuohimaa nabbed all-conference singles and doubles recognition for the second-consecutive season. The Helsinki, Finland product was a solid performer in the heart of the Frogs’ lineup, registering a 13-8 dual match singles record, including a 6-1 mark against the rest of the league.

Duncan stormed through her inaugural season for the Purple and White, leading the squad with a 14-6 singles clip and sweeping past the league with a perfect 8-0 record. A native of Winston-Salem, N.C., Duncan heads into the conference tournament on an eight-match winning streak.

As a doubles duo, Tuohimaa and Duncan posted a record of 9-8 this spring. The tandem enjoyed a 3-1 record against the league and have won six of their last seven matches.

The second-seeded Horned Frogs will open the MWC Championships Thursday at 11 a.m. CDT against No. 7 Colorado State.

2008-09 Women’s Tennis All-MWC Team



*Kristina Doerr, Jr., BYU
McCall Jones, Fr., BYU
Laura Neal, Jr., Colorado State                                                          
*Ola Abou-Zekry, Sr., New Mexico                                                 
Mackenzie White, Sr., New Mexico                                                
Holly Bagshaw, Sr., San Diego State
Kayla Duncan, Fr., TCU                                                                          
*Macall Harkins, Sr., TCU
*Katariina Tuohimaa, So., TCU                                                         
Nikol Dimitrova, Sr., UNLV                                                                  
* Kristina Nedeltcheva, Jr., UNLV
Katy Williams, Sr., UNLV                                                                       
Anastasia Putilina, Fr., Utah
Erin Monson, Jr., Utah
Sarah Summerfield, Jr., Wyoming
McCall Jones/Kristina Doerr, BYU       
Megan Price/Elle Carney, BYU
Ola Abou-Zekry/Emma Hayman, New Mexico
Holly Bagshaw/Julia Trunk, San Diego State
Katariina Tuohimaa/Kayla Duncan, TCU
Kristina Nedeltcheva/Katy Williams, UNLV
Erin Monson/Andrea Maughan, Utah
Player of the Year: Ola Abou-Zekry, New Mexico
Freshman of the Year: McCall Jones, BYU

*repeat selection