Username Or Email   Password   
Forgot  |  Register | FAQ
Home >   
LSU women's tennis to play host for nonconference double-header
Wednesday, 03/18/2009
( 0 ) ( 0 ) ( 0 )

(n/a) University of South Carolina-Lancaster Team Page

BATON ROUGE—The LSU women’s tennis team will take a break from SEC play as it hosts Tulsa and Grambling State in a double-header Wednesday at the W.T. “Dub” Robinson Stadium.

The Lady Tigers are fresh off of an upset victory over Kentucky, 4-3.

“We expect a very tough match from Tulsa. Tulsa made it to the second round of NCAA Tournament, so they’re an experienced and very talented team.  Every time we play it’s a really competitive battle,” said head coach Tony Minnis.  “We need to use the momentum from Kentucky and hopefully play well against Tulsa. With Grambling, we need to come out ready to play and take care of business.”

Senior 15th-ranked Megan Falcon leads the team with 10 dual match victories and 9 wins against nationally ranked opponents. After the Kentucky match, Falcon brought her career record just 12 matches short of her 100th-career victory.

Falcon is one of three Lady Tigers that brings a double digit winning record to the courts. Junior Nicole Kantor and freshman Whitney Wolf check in with 19 and 12 wins.

LSU (8-4, 1-2 SEC) showcases the duo of 14th-ranked Falcon and Mykala Hedberg. The tandem leads the Lady Tigers with a 23-3 record and 11-match win streak. The pair checks in with six wins over nationally ranked opponents.

Tulsa (15-3) features freshman Anastasia Erofeeva, who is 23-3 on the season with an 11-match win streak. The Golden Hurricanes highlight No. 73 Alexandra Kichoutkin and Marta Marcinkowska as they lead the team with a 7-4 record.

Grambling enters the match at 1-3 on the season with a 1-0 conference record.

First serve is slated for 11 a.m. against Tulsa and 4 p.m. against Grambling.

The latest rankings were released Tuesday by the Campbell’s/Intercollegiate Tennis Association.  

Rank Team

1. Northwestern

2. Notre Dame 

3. Georgia 

4. Baylor 

5. California

6. Georgia Tech 

7. Duke

8. Miami (Florida)


10. Southern California

11. Stanford

12. Tennessee

13. Clemson

14. Florida

15. North Carolina

16. Alabama 

17. Kentucky

18. Fresno State

19. Michigan

20. Virginia

21. Arkansas

22. Arizona State

23. LSU

24. SMU

25. San Diego State