Username Or Email   Password   
Forgot  |  Register | FAQ
Home >   
ITA Names 2013 ITA Men’s Collegiate Tennis Hall of Fame Inductees
Saturday, 03/02/2013
( 0 ) ( 0 ) ( 0 )
Pictured: Notre Dame Inductee, Coach Bob Bayliss

SKILLMAN, NJ (Mar. 1) - Courtesy of the ITA - The Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) announced today the 2013 inductees for the ITA Men’s Collegiate Tennis Hall of Fame. The 2013 class consists of seven inductees: Coaches - Bobby Bayliss (University of Notre Dame), Dennis Emery (University of Kentucky), and John Peterson (Tyler Junior College); Players - Paul Goldstein (Stanford University), Kelly Jones (Pepperdine University), and Harold Solomon (Rice University); and Contributor - Alan Schwartz (Yale University). The 2013 honorees will be inducted at the 2013 ITA Men’s Collegiate Hall of Fame Enshrinement Banquet, which will be held on May 22 during the NCAA Division I Men’s and Women’s Tennis Championships at the University of Illinois in Champaign, IL.
Coaches - Bobby Bayliss, head men’s coach at the University of Notre Dame, will be retiring at the end of this season, ending a 26 season stint at the helm of the Fighting Irish men’s tennis program.  Entering his 43rd season as a Division I head coach, Bayliss owns 746 career victories, the most by any active tennis coach in the nation which also places him sixth among all-time tennis coaches.   He is a three-time ITA Midwest Region Coach of the Year and was honored in 1992 as the Wilson/ITA National Coach of the Year after guiding the Fighting Irish to the NCAA finals. Bayliss also helped the United States win a gold medal at the World University Games in Sheffield, England in 1991.  
Dennis Emery was a men’s head coach at two institutions during his 35 year career, spending 30 of those years at the University of Kentucky.  He finished his coaching career with 655 wins, 568 of those during his time with the Wildcats.  Emery guided Kentucky to two SEC championships (1992, 2012), finished in the Top 25 of the final ITA National Men’s Rankings 23 times, and led the Wildcats to 11 Sweet 16 and four Elite Eight appearances.  He was also honored as the SEC Coach of the Year on three occasions, the last coming in 2012. 
John Peterson coached the men’s and women’s teams at Tyler Junior College from 1987 to 2011, finishing with an unprecedented 25 National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) tennis championships.  With 828 career wins, Peterson is already a member of both the NJCAA Men’s and Women’s Tennis Hall of Fame, the Texas Tennis Coaches Hall of Fame, and was named the Wilson/ITA Junior College National Coach of the Decade.   
Players - Paul Goldstein, a 1998 graduate of Stanford University, helped guide the Cardinal to the NCAA Team Championship each of his four seasons from 1995-98.  He was a four-time ITA All-American in doubles and an ITA All-American in singles.  In 1998, Goldstein reached the NCAA singles final and was named the Pac-10 Player of the Year.  He finished his collegiate career with 84 singles victories, fifth most in Stanford history, and three All-Pac-10 selections.  Goldstein is an ITA/Rafael Osuna Sportsmanship Award winner and is a two-time recipient of the ITA/Arthur Ashe Jr. Award for Sportsmanship and Leadership.  Click here for full release.