Username Or Email   Password   
Forgot  |  Register | FAQ
Home >   
No. 5 Ohio State Completes Decade of Dominance
Sunday, 04/07/2013
( 0 ) ( 0 ) ( 0 )

Ohio State University Team Page

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The fifth-ranked Ohio State men’s tennis team beat Wisconsin, 7-0 Friday at the Varsity Tennis Center to continue a historic home winning streak. The decade-long streak consists of 164 consecutive wins in Columbus and is the longest active home winning streak in all NCAA Division I sports.
During the streak and under the guidance of Ty Tucker, who was named head coach of the men's tennis team in 1999, the Scarlet and Gray have qualified for the NCAA Team Championships each season, advancing as far as the national championship match in 2009 as well as the semifinals in 2011 and the quarterfinals in 2004, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2010 and 2012.
In addition to NCAA success, Ohio State has dominated the Big Ten Conference during the past 10 years, winning seven Big Ten regular-season and tournament titles. During the run, the Buckeyes have captured seven consecutive regular-season league crowns (2006-12), while winning six consecutive tournament championships from 2006-2011. In all, Ohio State has amassed a 103-4 (.962) regular-season record vs. Big Ten opponents since the start of the 2003 season.
The first of three singles wins necessary to clinch the match came from Constantin Christ. The freshman defeated Frederik Strabo 6-1, 6-0. Next No. 13 Blaz Rola beat Alexander Kostanov 6-2, 6-3. For the third time this season, Hunter Callahan clinched the win for Ohio State. Callahan was a 6-4, 6-2 winner against Alexander Kokorev on court No. 5.
Ohio State won the doubles point for the 24th time this season with victories on all three courts. The first win came from the 57th-ranked duo of Rola and Kevin Metka. The Buckeye tandem won 8-3 over Strabo and Kostanov. Court No. 2 finished up shortly after with No. 27 Devin McCarthy and Ille Van Engelen defeating Oskar Wikberg and Jakhongir Jalalov 8-1. Rounding out the doubles matches, No. 13 Peter Kobelt and Connor Smith were 8-6 victors vs. Kokorev and Petr Satral.
The Buckeyes shutout the Badgers in singles play, winning the remaining three matches after Callahan’s historic victory. No. 4 Kobelt defeated Satral in first singles by a score of 6-3, 6-4. Van Engelen then finished Kokorev 6-4, 6-2 on court No. 4. McCarthy sealed the sweep with a 6-3, 6-4 victory vs. Wikberg.
The Buckeyes look to continue their winning ways Sunday, with the next two matches being in a double header format. Ohio State faces Minnesota at noon and Wright State at 5:30 p.m. Sunday. Matches are scheduled to be played outdoors at the Varsity Tennis Courts on Olentangy River Road. In the case of inclement and cold weather, matches will be moved indoors to The Ohio State University Varsity Tennis Center at 880 W. Henderson Road.
Tennis Match Results
Wisconsin vs Ohio State
Apr 05, 2013 at Columbus, Ohio
(Varsity Tennis Center)
#5 Ohio State 7, Wisconsin 0
Singles competition 
1. #4 Peter Kobelt (OSU) def. Petr Satral (WIS) 6-3, 6-4
2. #13 Blaz Rola (OSU) def. Alexander Kostanov (WIS) 6-2, 6-3
3. #83 Devin McCarthy (OSU) def. Oskar Wikberg (WIS) 6-3, 6-4
4. Ille Van Engelen (OSU) def. Jakhongir Jalalov (WIS) 6-4, 6-2
5. Hunter Callahan (OSU) def. Alexander Kokorev (WIS) 6-4, 6-2
6. Constantin Christ (OSU) def. Frederik Strabo (WIS) 6-1, 6-0
Doubles competition 
1. #13 Peter Kobelt/Connor Smith (OSU) def. Alexander Kokorev/Petr Satral (WIS) 8-6
2. #27 Devin McCarthy/Ille Van Engelen (OSU) def. Oskar Wikberg/Jakhongir Jalalov (WIS) 8-1
3. #57 Blaz Rola/Kevin Metka (OSU) def. Frederik Strabo/Alexander Kostanov (WIS) 8-3
Match Notes:
Wisconsin 10-8
Ohio State 22-2; National ranking #5
Order of finish: Doubles (3,2,1); Singles (6,2,5,1,4,3)
Official: Vince Solomon  T-2:43  A-203