Username Or Email   Password   
Forgot  |  Register | FAQ
Home >   
Georgia Perfect On Final Day Of Bulldog Scramble
Friday, 11/15/2013
( 0 ) ( 0 ) ( 0 )

University of Georgia Team Page

ATHENS-----The Georgia men’s tennis team closed out its fall schedule by going 5-0 on the final day of the Bulldog Scramble Sunday at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex.
Garrett Brasseaux defeated Vanderbilt’s Rhys Johnson, 7-6(2), 7-6(5), to win his fourth match of the weekend. The senior from Mandeville, La., was named the tournament champion.
In other action, No. 19 Ben Wagland claimed a 6-2, 6-1 win over Anton Kovirgin of LSU, and No. 72 Hernus Pieters topped Vanderbilt’s Pen Binet, 6-2, 6-2. ‘
Georgia won two doubles matches as the No. 2 team of Pieters and Wagland defeated LSU’s Chris Simpson and Boris Arias, 6-4, and Eric Diaz and Brasseaux downed LSU’s Andrew Korinek and Justin Butsch, 6-1.
“It was a good way for us to finish the tournament and the fall,” said associate head coach Will Glenn. “Our seniors Garrett and Hernus finished the fall season on a good note. I’m really pleased with the way everyone competed and pleased with the doubles too. Eric Diaz is playing very well in doubles.”
The Bulldogs will return to action at the Georgia Tech Invitational Jan. 17-20 in Atlanta. The first dual match is slated for Jan. 26 against Columbia in Athens as part of the ITA Kickoff.
Bulldog Scramble – Day 3 Results
#2 Ben Wagland/Hernus Pieters (UGA) d. Simpson/Arias (LSU), 6-4
Garrett Brasseaux/Eric Diaz (UGA) d. Korinek/Butsch (LSU), 6-1
Trinh/Perez (LSU) d. Juan Sheppard/Joel Cook (FU), 6-2
Offerdahl/Kovirgin (VU) d. Austin Siegel/Alex Ghilea (OU), 6-5(5)
Kris Yee/Suresh Eswaran (VU) d. Synn/Hoover (FU), 6-3
Ryan Smith/Ryhs Johnson (VU) d. Behal/Horst (FU), 6-4
Mason Vierra/Pen Binet (VU) d. Feigel/Rakitt (GT), 6-4
#19 Ben Wagland (UGA) d. Anton Kovirgin (VU), 6-2, 6-1
Garrett Brasseaux (UGA) d. Rhys Johnson (VU), 7-6(2), 7-6(5)
#72 Hernus Pieters (UGA) d. Pen Binet (VU), 6-2, 6-2
Alex Ghilea (OU) d. Cole Fiegel (GT), 6-3, 6-2
Nathan Rakitt (GT) d. Austin Siegel (OU), 6-2, 3-6, 6-4
Carlos Benito (GT) d. #29 Chris Simpson (LSU), 7-5, 6-3
Nick Papac (OU) d. Suresh Eswaran (VU), 6-1, 7-5
Andrew Korinek (LSU) d. Kris Yee (VU), 6-1, 7-6
Justin Butsch (LSU) d. Ryan Smith (VU), 6-1, 6-2
Jeff Offerdahl (VU) d. Luke Synn (FU), 6-1, 6-1
Mason Vierra (VU) d. Luke Hoover (FU), 7-5, 6-1
Joel Cook (FU) d. Boris Arias (LSU), 6-2, 6-7, 6-4
Tam Trinh (LSU) d. Jacob Behal (FU), 4-6, 6-4, 6-3
Ben Horst (FU) d. Eric Perez (LSU), 1-6, 7-5, 6-4
Austin Kennedy (LSU) d. Juan Sheppard (FU), 6-3, 7-6(3)