Username   Password   
Forgot  |  Register | FAQ
Univ. of Nebraska Men Team News
Gophers Drop Huskers, 7-0
Friday, 04/20/2012

MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. – The No. 71 Nebraska men’s tennis team dropped its first match of the weekend to No. 35 Minnesota on Friday afternoon, 7-0. The lossdrops the Huskers to 10-13 on the year with a 3-7 record in Big Ten play. Minnesota improves to 12-6 with a 7-3 record in conference action.

Nebraska started off the match dropping the doubles point and was only able to win one match on court No. 3 when NU’s duo of Christopher Aumueller and Stefan Gollner defeatedMinnesota’s squad of Phillip Arndt and Jack Hamburg, 8-7 (3).

The Huskers changed up their singles lineup, but were unable to pick up anypoints.

Playing at the No. 1 spot in the Huskers’ lineup was Benedikt Lindheim who was defeated by Minnesota’s Rok Bonin, 6-4, 6-1. On court No. 2, the Gophers’ Leandro Toledo downed NU’s Robert Schulze, 0-6, 6-3, 7-6 (5). Andre Stenger was playing at the No. 3 spot for the Huskers and was defeated by Minnesota’s Julian Dehn in straight sets, 6-3, 6-3.

On court No. 4, Minnesota’s Phillip Arndt downed NU’s Tom Blackwell, 7-5, 6-4. At the No. 5 spot in the Huskers’ lineup was Eric Sock who was downed by the Gophers Mathieu Froment, 3-6, 7-6 (5), 1-0 (6). Minnesota’s Jack Hamburg downed NU’s Drew Freeman on court No. 6, 7-5, 6-4.

The Huskers will return home to close out their regular season on Sunday when they match up against the Wisconsin Badgers. Sunday’s match will be at the NU Varsity Courts and is set to begin at noon.

No. 35 Minnesota 7, No. 71 Nebraska 0

 Singles Competition:
1. Rok Bonin (MINN) def. No. 106 Benedikt Lindheim (NEB) 6-4, 6-1
2. No. 89 Leandro Toledo (MINN) def. Robert Schulze (NEB) 0-6, 6-3, 7-6 (5)
3. Julian Dehn (MINN) def. Andre Stenger (NEB) 6-3, 6-3
4. Phillip Arndt (MINN) def. Tom Blackwell (NEB) 7-5, 6-4
5. Mathieu Froment (MINN) def. Eric Sock (NEB) 3-6, 7-6 (5), 1-0 (6)
6. Jack Hamburg (MINN) def. Drew Freeman (NEB) 7-5, 6-4

 Doubles Competition:
1. No. 33 Bonin/Dehn (MINN) def. Sock/Stenger (NEB) 8-4
2. Ramirez/Toledo (MINN) def. Lindheim/Schulze (NEB) 8-6
3. Aumueller/ Gollner (NEB) def. Arndt/ Hamburg 8-7 (3)