Username   Password   
Forgot  |  Register | FAQ
St. Cloud State University Men Team News
St. Cloud State Men's Tennis Ties Team Win Record
Sunday, 04/19/2009

 The St. Cloud State University men's tennis team (24-2) tied a team record on April 18, with a pair of 9-0 victories over host University of Mary and Augustana College.  The victories pushes SCSU's season victory total to 24, which equals the team's season record for victories that was also set in 2002 with a 24-7 overall record.  SCSU has a chance to break the team record on April 27, with a match at Bethel College in Arden Hills, Minn.
In the match against Augustana, the Huskies gained singles victories from Wojciech Batorski (#1), Kris Johnson (#2), Ryan Schoenefeld (#3), Shane Ecklund (#4), Kevin Bauleke (#5) and Alex Lesiuk (#6).  In doubles play, Batorski and Mike Master posted an 8-2 win at #1 doubles, while Johnson and Schoenefeld won at second doubles.  To wrap up the shutout, Ecklund and Jeremy Thompson won 8-0 at third doubles.
Against Mary, the Huskies rolled through the singles and doubles competiton and also gained forfeit victories at third doubles and sixth singles.  Complete results for both matches are listed below.
St. Cloud State 9, Augustana College 0
Singles competition
1. Wojciech Batorski (SCSUM) def. Ryan Gardner (AUGIEM) 6-1, 6-3
2. Kris Johnson (SCSUM) def. Jared Drenkow (AUGIEM) 6-4, 6-1
3. Ryan Schoenefeld (SCSUM) def. Dillon Karros (AUGIEM) 6-0, 6-0
4. Shane Ecklund (SCSUM) def. Aaron Gellhaus (AUGIEM) 6-0, 6-1
5. Kevin Bauleke (SCSUM) def. Neil Gergerson (AUGIEM) 6-1, 6-1
6. Alex Lesiuk (SCSUM) def. Nate Strenge (AUGIEM) 6-0, 6-0
Doubles competition
1. Wojciech Batorski/Mike Master (SCSUM) def. Ryan Gardner/Jared Drenkow (AUGIEM) 8-2
2. Kris Johnson/Ryan Schoenefeld (SCSUM) def. Dillon Karros/Aaron Gellhaus (AUGIEM) 8-0
3. Shane Ecklund/Jeremy Thompson (SCSUM) def. Neil Gergerson/Nate Strenge (AUGIEM) 8-0
St. Cloud State 9, at Mary 0
 Singles competition
1. Mike Master (SCSUM) def. Jackson Opperud (MARY) 6-4, 6-1
2. Ryan Schoenefeld (SCSUM) def. Sean Solberg (MARY) 6-1, 6-1
3. Alex Lesiuk (SCSUM) def. Jess Freidt (MARY) 6-0, 6-0
4. Jeremy Thompson (SCSUM) def. Sean Borean (MARY) 6-0, 6-0
5. Kevin Bauleke (SCSUM) def. Ben Bawden (MARY) 6-0, 6-0
6. SCSU wins by forfeit
 Doubles competition
1. Wojciech Batorski/Kris Johnson (SCSUM) def. Jackson Opperud/Sean Solberg (MARY) 8-2
2. Shane Ecklund/Alex Lesiuk (SCSUM) def. Jess Freidt/Sean Borean (MARY) 8-2
3. SCSU wins by forfeit