Username   Password   
Forgot  |  Register | FAQ
University of Tennessee Men Team News
Whoriskey Named to 2010 USTA Summer Collegiate Team
Sunday, 07/04/2010

By Donnie Conley, Media Relations Student Assistant


KNOXVILLE, Tenn. – Recently graduated Lady Vol tennis player Caitlin Whoriskey was selected to the 2010 USTA Summer Collegiate Team, administered by the USTA and the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA), on Thursday afternnon.


This marks the second consecutive summer that the East Sandwich, Mass., native has participated on the squad. Last year, she became the first Lady Vol in school history to earn a spot on the prestigious team.


The USTA Summer Collegiate Team is an elite training program for the top American collegiate tennis players. The program began in 1996 and is funded by the USTA.  It is designed to provide college players with valuable exposure to the USTA Pro Circuit in a team-oriented environment during the summer months.


Paired with Natalie Pluskota, Whoriskey wrapped up a stellar career at Rocky Top with a runner-up finish in the NCAA Doubles Championships on May 31. In her four years with the Lady Vols, Whoriskey posted 92 singles victories (12th in school history) and 113 doubles wins (fourth in school history). She finished the season ranked No. 10 in singles, while she and Pluskota captured the No. 1 overall spot in the final Campbell/ITA doubles ratings.


This season, Whoriskey went 33-13 in singles and set a school record for most doubles wins in the NCAA era with 40. She was an All-SEC first team selection for the second consecutive season and also earned ITA All-America honors in both singles and doubles. She was named the 2010 ITA National Senior Player of the Year for her efforts in the 2009-10 campaign.


For the second consecutive year, each USTA Summer Collegiate Team will have two coaches.  Jamea Jackson, Assistant Coach of Women’s Tennis at Oklahoma State University and Julia Scaringe, Assistant Coach of Women’s Tennis at Notre Dame, will coach the women’s team, while Chris Brandi, Assistant Coach of Men’s Tennis at Baylor University, and Bo Hodge, Assistant Coach of Men’s Tennis at the University of Alabama, will be coaching the men's team.  Brandi also coached the men’s team in 2009.


The top six American players from the season-ending ITA national singles rankings are eligible for automatic selections.  The remaining players on each team were selected by USTA Player Development staff in conjunction with USTA National Coaches, and current collegiate coaches.  Eighteen of the players selected received 2010 ITA All-American honors.


The women's team includes five of the top seven American players from the final national singles rankings: Falconi, who finished No. 1 overall after winning the Riviera/ITA All-American singles title, Barte, Sanchez, Embree and Whoriskey.  Embree was named ITA National Rookie of the Year while Whoriskey was named ITA Senior Player of the Year.  Barte will make her third consecutive appearance on the team, while Falconi, Sanchez, Whoriskey and Lindsay Burdette will all join the team for the second straight year.


In addition to competing on the USTA Pro Circuit, USTA Player Development will host two Pro Tour Transition camps – one for men, one for women – for the selected players.  The women’s camp will be conducted June 27-July 1 on hard courts in Boca Raton and coached by USTA National Coach Sarah Taylor.


Current pros who were members of prior USTA Summer Collegiate Teams include: James Blake, Bob and Mike Bryan, Amer Delic, Laura Granville, John Isner, Jesse Levine, Todd Paul, Sam Warburg, and Jesse Witten


Fans are reminded to follow the Lady Vols on Twitter at


Women’s Team

Hilary Barte, Stanford (Jr., Chatsworth, Calif.)

Lindsay Burdette, Stanford (Sr., Jackson, Ga.)

Mallory Burdette, Stanford (Fr., Jackson, Ga.)

Aeriel Ellis, Texas (Fr., Hayward, Calif.)

Lauren Embree, Florida (Fr., Marco Island, Fla.)

Irina Falconi, Georgia Tech (So., Jupiter, Fla.)

Kristy Frilling, Notre Dame (So., Sidney, Ohio)

McCall Jones, BYU (So., Orange County, Calif.)

 Danielle Lao, Southern California (Fr., Arcadia, Calif.)

Maria Sanchez, Southern California (Jr., Modesto, Calif.)

Caitlin Whoriskey, Tennessee (Sr., East Sandwich, Mass.)

Allie Will, Florida (Fr., Boca Raton, Fla.)


Men’s Team

Sekou Bangoura, Florida (Fr., Bradenton, Fla.)

Chase Buchanan, Ohio State (So., New Albany, Ohio)

Drew Courtney, Virginia (So., Clifton, Va.)

Jarmere Jenkins, Virginia (Fr., College Park, Ga.)

Steve Johnson, Southern California (So., Orange, Calif.)

Evan King, Michigan (Fr., Chicago)

Bradley Klahn, Stanford (So., Poway, Calif.)

Austin Krajicek, Texas A&M (Jr., Brandon, Fla.)

Daniel Nguyen, Southern California (So., Oxnard, Calif.)

Eric Quigley, Kentucky (So., Pewee Valley, Ky.)

Tennys Sandgren, Tennessee (Fr., Gallatin, Tenn.)

Bob van Overbeek, Florida (Fr., Boca Raton, Fla.)

Rhyne Williams, Tennessee (Fr., Knoxville, Tenn.)