Username   Password   
Forgot  |  Register | FAQ
University of Tennessee Women Team News
Boren, Szekely Named To All-SEC First Team
Wednesday, 04/24/2013

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. - Senior Kata Szekely and junior Brynn Boren have been named to the 2013 All-SEC First Team as announced by the Southeastern Conference Wednesday.
The duo, which has combined for 36 doubles victories in 2013 and a top-5 ITA Tennis ranking throughout the Spring 2013 season, are the 30th and 31st Tennessee women's tennis players to earn SEC First Team honors.
Both Boren and Szekely earn their third All-SEC accolade. Boren was a member of the All-SEC Second Team as a freshman in 2011 and earned first team honors last season. This is Szekely's first appearance on the First Team after earning Second Team honors in 2011 and 2012.
Both athletes earned an SEC Player of the Week honor this season. Szekely was named Player of the week on February 20 while Boren got the nod the week of March 13.
Boren finished the 2013 regular season with a 22-15 singles record, 11-7 in dual meets and 8-4 in the SEC playing at No. 1 singles. The Laguna Niguel, Calif. native has been ranked in the top-25 of the ITA Tennis polls the entire spring.
Szekely finished the regular season with a 30-9 singles record, 15-3 in dual meets and 10-2 in SEC play at the No. 2 singles spot. She has earned a top-40 ranking for her efforts the entire season.
Combined, the pair accumulated a 35-6 overall doubles record, 15-3 in dual meets and 10-2 in the SEC. They were 14-4 against ranked opponents and as a doubles team, became just the third UT tandem, playing all doubles matches together in a season, to hit 30 wins.
Combined with her 30 singles victories, Szekely became the sixth Lady Vol to record 30 singles wins and 30 doubles wins in the same season achieving the feat for the eighth time in Tennessee women's tennis history.
Next up, the Lady Vols await the decision of where they will play in the NCAA Tournament as announced by the NCAA on Tuesday, April 30 at 5:30 p.m. The first and second rounds will begin May 10.
Coach of the Year: Roland Thornqvist, Florida
Player of the Year: Lauren Embree, Florida
Freshman of the Year: Pleun Burgmans, Auburn
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Antonia Foehse, Alabama
All-SEC First Team
Alexa Guarachi, Alabama
Mary Anne Macfarlane, Alabama
Yang Pang, Arkansas
Pleun Burgmans, Auburn
Lauren Embree, Florida
Sofie Oyen, Florida
Lauren Herring, Georgia
Maho Kowase, Georgia
Kata Szekely, Tennessee
Brynn Boren, Tennessee
Cristina Sanchez-Quintanar, Texas A&M
Nazari Urbina, Texas A&M
All-SEC Second Team
Antonia Foehse, Alabama
Claudine Paulson, Arkansas
Nadia Ravita, Kentucky
Alexandra Cercone, Florida
Olivia Janowicz, Florida
Brianna Morgan, Florida
Kate Fuller, Georgia
Silvia Garcia, Georgia
Caroline Rohde-Moe, Ole Miss
Georgiana Patrasc, Mississippi State
Jaklin Alawi, South Carolina
Katerina Popova, South Carolina
Cristina Stancu, Texas A&M
All-Freshman Team
Natalia Maynetto, Alabama
Yang Pang, Arkansas
Pleun Burgmans, Auburn
Brianna Morgan, Florida
Silvia Garcia, Georgia
Nadia Ravita, Kentucky