Username   Password   
Forgot  |  Register | FAQ
University of Washington Women Team News
Dy Earns Third All-Pac-12 Honor
Sunday, 05/13/2012

SEATTLE – Senior All-American Denise Dy has been voted to the All-Pac-12 Team for the third straight season, the conference office announced today. Dy, who will compete in the NCAA Singles Championships for the third time later this month, was named to the Second Team.

The All-Pac-12 Women’s Tennis Team is based on a vote of the conference head coaches, with the top-six vote getters earning First Team status, and the next six earning Second Team honors. Any other player earning a vote is honorable mention.

Dy was a First Team selection last year and a Second Team member in 2010. The San Jose, Calif. native is fourth in Washington history with 97 singles wins, and is currently ranked 17th in the nation in singles by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA). Dy has maintained her ranking and was voted to the Second Team in spite of a wrist injury forced her to miss a number of matches this spring and hampered her play when she chose to fight through it.

By earning a spot on the First or Second Teams for the third time, Dy joins a list of Huskies that includes Kristina Kraszewski, Dea Sumantri, and Venise Chan.

The only Husky to reach three national semifinals (the 2009 ITA National Indoors, the 2010 ITA All-Americans, and the 2011 ITA National Indoors), Dy had a career dual match record in singles of 61-17. She’ll begin her NCAA Singles Championships run on May 23.

In the yearly awards, Stanford sophomore Nicole Gibbs was named Pac-12 Singles Player of the Year, USC’s Kaitlyn Christian and Sabrina Santamaria were voted Pac-12 Doubles Team of the Year, UCLA’s Robin Anderson was awarded Pac-12 Freshman/Newcomer of the Year, and Washington State’s Lisa Hart was named Pac-12 Coach of the Year.

2012 All-Pac-12 Women’s Tennis Teams

First Team
Nicole Gibbs, So., STAN
Robin Anderson, Fr., UCLA
Mallory Burdette, Jr., STAN
Jana Juricova, Sr., CAL
Zoe Scandalis, Fr., USC
Zsofia Susanyi, Fr., CAL

Second Team
Jacqueline Cako, So., ASU
Sabrina Santamaria, Fr., USC
Denise Dy, Sr., WASH
Danielle Lao, Jr., USC
Anett Schutting, So., CAL
Liudmila Vasilieva, WSU
Stacey Tan, Jr., STAN

Honorable Mention
Lacey Smyth, So., ARIZ
Anastasia Putilina, Sr., UTAH
Annie Goransson, Jr., CAL
Kaitlyn Christian, So., USC